Hinulugang Taktak to be co-managed by DENR, LGUs of Rizal Province and Antipolo City



Department of Environment and Natural Resources-CALABARZON Regional Director Reynulfo Juan, (right) concurrently Chairman of the Protected Area Management Board (PAMB) of Hinulugang Taktak Protected Landscape (HTPL) displays with Rizal Governor Rebecca Ynares (center) and Antipolo City Mayor Casimiro Ynares III (left) the Memorandum of Agreement they signed for the co-administration and co-management of HTPL in rites held at the Provincial Capitol in Antipolo City recently. Co-management and co-administration include the joint-preparation, improvement and effective implementation of the HTPL Management Plan. The plan ensures that steps, programs or projects further enhance the operation and ecotourism potential of the HTPL and that these will not change or impair its natural conditions and will be more beneficial to the protected area; will not in any manner diminish its unique physical or biological significance, and ensure its protection rehabilitation and sustainable development.

Hinulugang Taktak, famous for its waterfalls and scenery, located in Antipolo City, was declared a Recreation Area by virtue of Presidential Proclamation No. 330 on July 18, 1952, then converted into a National Park thru Republic Act No. 6964 on September 18, 1990, and later declared as a permanent component of the NIPAS under the category of Protected Landscape through Proclamation No. 412 on November 17, 2000. Republic Act No. 7586 otherwise known as the "National Integrated Protected Areas System (NIPAS) Act provides for the establishment and management of outstanding remarkable areas and biologically important public lands that are habitats of rare and endangered species of plants and animals, biogeographic zones and related terrestrial, wetland or marine ecosystems.

Also present during the signing rites were: DENR Region 4A Calabarzon OIC Regional Technical Director for Protected Areas Wildlife and Coastal Zone Management Service Dr. Domingo Bravo, former RTD Arnulfo Hernandez, Rizal Planning and Development Officer Milagros Trias, DILG Director Darell Dizon, Antipolo City Tourism Officer Marino Bacani, San Isidro Barangay Chair Jonathan Salen, Atty Edmundo Sanso, Engr Violeta Faiyaz of Antipolo City Ecological Waste Management Office and other members of the PAMB.